Imago Embraced

Finally Emerging From The Chrysalis

  • i·ma·go

    1. Psychoanalysis -- an idealized concept of a loved one, formed in childhood and retained unaltered in adult life. 2. An insect in its mature adult stage after metamorphosis. My entire life I knew in my head that I should look different (thinner), and think maybe for the first time in my life, I can finally make this catepillar body emerge out of the cocoon I have spent a lifetime in and be the butterfly I always saw myself to be.
  • Here Is The New Me

  • About Me

    54 years young male, 6' 2" tall. Load 11/9 to 11/10 topped out at 269.4 pounds -YIKES! Best weight I have ever enjoyed - 205 lbs. Final goal 200 lbs.
  • Email Me at:

    imagoembraced @ aol dot com
  • Me In January

    New Me!
  • Here is the old Me

    Here I Am!
  • My Journey

  • My Archives

Day 30 of VLCD – Injection 28

Posted by Imago Embraced on Sunday, December 9, 2007

December 9, 2007

Round 1 Starting Weight – 267.4     11/08/07
Yesterday – 242.0
Today – 241.0
Loss Overnight –  1.0
Lost Since Start of Protocol (VLCD) 11/10/07  – 26.4
Average loss per day –  .91/day

ticker1209.png

My 18 year old daughter is in her first year of college at a University in Ohio. She has spent the majority of her young life living in the desert of Arizona. Last year when we were talking about where she might like to continue her education, it was her desire to go somewhere that had a change of season (something she had never experienced). So last August I flew out to the desert and together we drove her car to the Midwest.

This last week, with the freezing weather blasting the north, she called and in an excited tone said it was snowing and was sticking to the ground. But it was supposed to melt later in the day and then turn to rain, sleet and ice. I had reminded her that she has never driven in snow or ice before, and that she needed to understand that her car will behave differently in both of those road conditions. Ice, especially, can take the car places she won’t want to go. I said an inexperienced driver will sometimes struggle with the car to get back on track before crashing into curbs, or worse, other cars. I told her there is a simple trick to get back on track, but it goes against the natural thing to do and until you get the hang of it, you will want to fight it. She asked, “what is the trick? I said, “when your hands are tightly gripping the wheel, simply take your foot off the gas and let go.” Her response was what I expected. “Let go? Of the Wheel?” “Yes”, I said, “let go. When you do that the tires will naturally turn the way it is the car is  heading. Then, once the wheels have turned into the direction of the slide, you just take the wheel and turn yourself back onto the path you want to go.”

That has been my challenge this week as an inexperience “driver” with this protocol. I have wanted to direct exactly where, how, and how fast to eliminate with this diet. Much to my dismay, the “ice” under my wheels have taken me anywhere it wanted to go. It wasn’t until I was willing to let go and “enjoy the ride” that I was able to see that I am now back on course. And it is even deeper than that. I was always on course, it just didn’t feel that way. I have eliminated nearly 27 pounds in a month and one pound overnight. Since yesterday I did absolutely nothing different except “let go of my grip” and “sit back and enjoy the ride.”

I don’t know if there is anymore “ice” up ahead or not …. but most probably it should be expected. I trust when I get there I will remember to “let go”.

Had my breakfast patties for lunch and dinner, no broccoli, but 1/2 grapefruit, 2 crackers and celery. Drank more water than usual.

I’d like to thank everyone for their posted comments and emails. I enjoyed the stories of childhood and the south. I too like to analogize, obviously. Pairing stories, lessons and events with feelings help me express my ideas and emotions. Thanks for indulging me. Hope it helps some to understand what others are going through.

Rain here today. “&%/*#^~” rain. If ever I picked a challenging time to come up here to paint the house, it would be now.

Onward. Yielding to the ice beneath my feet makes it easier to experience the knowing my “Life is Sweet!!”

Biz ~ you are quite the girl. There is a special place in heaven for you for all the effort, love and care you give others struggling for answers. Thanks again from one of the many.

Lilli ~ When my daughter was a little one I used to get the same question and my answer to her was always, “Yes we are there and we’re having a lot of fun.” But then I have always had a bad streak of smart ass in me.

Crystal ~ I never knew how to eat until I moved to New Orleans. I was lucky enough to work at a fancy hotel on Bourbon Street in the French Quarter for a number of years and learned how to enjoy southern cooking. Nothing down there moves the herd like the dinner bell.

7 Responses to “Day 30 of VLCD – Injection 28”

  1. Becca said

    Hi Paul,
    I’m loving your stories, you’re a very entertaining writer. Keep ’em coming. Hey I look at your blog and keep seeing things that we have in common. I’m 53 years old. I was born near Flint, Michigan. Actually Clare but I think that’s close. I’m not exactly sure because I moved to Arizona when I was 2 years old. Now I’m married and my husband’s family lives in Ohio so I visit there a lot, and we ALWAYS root for Ohio State when they’re playing! Last time I went to Ohio was right before Thanksgiving and I happened to mention this to Lili who said that I probably drove right past her place when we drove from the airport to my mother-in-laws house.
    Small world I guess…

  2. Amy said

    I just found your blog & really enjoyed reading it! I wonder if your daughter will feel the same next year after she gets enough snow! LOL. Congratulations on your loss!

  3. Biz said

    How totally excellent this post is! I just love how you handle life’s experiences and relate them to the protocol. What an awesome writer you are! I grew up in Hawaii, and I have lived pretty much the four corners of this continent, but the South is where I feel most at home. I just love the South! I had my fill of “seasons’ while living in PGH, PA for 6 years. Had enough snow to last me a lifetime. Keep up the fantastic work Paul, and thank you for the kind words!

  4. Lili said

    Nice post.

    He he….. I can remember when I first moved from Los Angeles out to NE Ohio – Oh, snow! What a novelty! What an adventure!! How prosaic!!!!

    Just tell her to be very careful driving. That ice on the roads is a real surprise. And tell her to always keep her cellphone on her!

  5. Crystal said

    HA I love your writing style. It is like a new chapter in a book everyday! So cool. Great advice to give to your little one and to me….I really didnt know that about the car. 😀 Of course in West TN we really do not get much of either. (snow or ice)
    Congrats on the loss and for realizing that you need to “let go of the wheel”. It is always easier said than done but our bodies know what direction to turn if we just simply let them.

    Thanks again!
    Crystal

  6. […] for dinner but I couldn’t get more than about 3 bites down.  So, I listened to my body – took my hands off the wheel and was done eating.  That was fine because I had zero hunger.   I figured I’d have a […]

  7. […] excellent post on Imago Embraced last night, please take a moment and read it. How appropriate it is for my topic about Plateaus, he […]

Leave a comment